Posts Tagged ‘ICANN’

Share via email

By Daniel Davidson

In an era where the world is connected through the internet and domain names have sold for hundreds of millions of dollars, there rests a question that calls for the ol’ pros and cons table.  When a large company, or a famous individual, builds the goodwill of their trademark, they, in most cases, will spend a significant amount of money in protecting that goodwill. 

 

Sometimes, someone comes along and feels that they will go ahead and bank off the goodwill, which has already gained notoriety, and register a domain name that is very similar, or uses a significant portion of a trademark owner’s name, and offer similar services thereon.  For example, Coca-Cola Company owns the domain www.coca-cola.com.  In an attempt to trade off the goodwill of Coca-Cola, someone may register the domain name www.cocacolasodas.com, and offer a dark-colored, fizzy drink to the public.

 

In the Coca-Cola’s example, Coca-Cola would have a few options.  I am not saying that there are only two options, but these are two ways that most domain name disputes can be resolved.  One, you can file a lawsuit against the infringer (after weeks of trying to obtain the name and address of the Registrant because they probably use a whois privacy company, and then on top of that, use a P.O. Box), and attempt to obtain a judgment.  Once the judgment is entered, you can forward a copy to the Registrar, who will then cancel the registration of the domain name.

 

Second, you can file a complaint with the ICANN using the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy.  In this form of domain name resolution, it is much like filing a lawsuit and obtaining a judgment, only you are not filing in a Federal Court.  In some cases, it would be more cost effective using the ICANN UDRP in obtaining a judgment, because like I mentioned, it is sometimes very difficult obtaining the information necessary to track down a Defendant.

 

The process consists of a Complaint filed against the domain name infringer.  The infringe,r or Respondent, will then have to file a Response to the Complaint.  Upon receiving the Response, the parties can file additional statements and documents within five (5) days after the Response was received.  Once all the pertinent information is in, the parties will then decide whether they prefer three panelist, or one, to decide their matter.  Electing to go with one panelist will warrant you a significant reimbursement of the approximately $3,000 (not including attorney’s fees) you pay to file the Complaint.  The elements which need to be alleged in the Complaint are:

 

            a. the manner in which the domain name is identical or confusingly similar to a trademark;

 

            b. why the infringer/Respondent has no rights or legitimate interest in the domain name; and

 

            c. how the infringer/Respondent is using the domain name in bad faith.

 

If the panel finds all the elements in a trademark holder’s favor, a judgment will be entered and will be forwarded to the Registrar of the domain name.  Cheers.

Share via email

By: Mark R. Malek

The .XXX registry is about to be launched and you have until this Friday, October 28, 2011, to take advantage of the “sunrise” period.  The sunrise period is a time frame when trademark owners can reserve their trademark, or block registration of their trademark, prior to the .XXX registry being launched.  Essentially, the doors to the .XXX registration store are being opened early.

To take advantage of the sunrise period, go to your domain name registrar and see if they are offering online forms for your use.  I, personally, am a fan of GoDaddy.com (not because of the Danica Patrick commercials – but I have to admit that they are not so tough to watch).  A list of the accredited registrars can be found here.  A good bit of information on the process for protecting your trademark prior to the .XXX landrush can be found here.

Remember – you only have until this Friday to ensure that this is taken care of.  What happens after Friday you ask?  Simple – there is an initial .XXX offering for those who satisfy the criteria for the “Adult Sponsored Community” that begins on November 8.  During that time, those who qualify for the “Adult Sponsored Community” can register the .XXX domains that may be left.  Everyone else has to wait until December.  You can pretty much guarantee that if you have a somewhat famous or otherwise recognizable trademark, it will likely be registered during the initial .XXX offering.

All is not lost if you do not reserve or block your trademark in time.  Many people associate the adult entertainment industry negatively.  Others, such as myself, would not really appreciate it if someone put anything up on any website that can be identified with my own trademark.  In other words, if someone went to TacticalIP.anything, and did not get directed to a blog that has to do with intellectual property law, and was written by the attorneys at Zies Widerman & Malek (or occasionally by our guest authors), I’d be somewhat upset.  Sure, it would upset me if someone went to a website that was associated with the TacticalIP trademark and was, instead, directed to adult oriented content, but worse than my feelings would be the damage that could be done to our trademark.

Therefore, trademark owners need to be aware of this period and be sure to protect their trademarks from unauthorized use by anyone.  Although the filing fees, and legal fees, can be between about $300 and $500 to take advantage of the sunrise period, those fees pale in comparison to the fees that would be associated with trying to wrestle your trademark away from a person who has registered it on the .XXX registry and  associated it with adult entertainment without your authorization.

For questions, please connect with me via LinkedIn, or send me an email me at Mark@LegalTeamUSA.com.

 

Share via email

By Daniel Davidson

As if her dress that she wore to the 2010 MTV Video Music Awards spoiling because of a lack of refrigeration wasn’t enough, Lady Gaga is having to deal with unruly fans stealing the goodwill of her trademark.  Recently, a three panel committee of the National Arbitration Forum decided that the fan was not unruly enough to constitute the shutdown of www.ladygaga.org.

 

Stefani Germanotta, the holder of three trademark registrations for “Lady Gaga” decided that a fan page dedicated to her was infringing upon her trademark and was registered in bad faith. 

 

According to the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy of ICANN, if a domain name dispute arises, a complaint must meet three elements:

(i) the domain name is identical or confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark in which the complainant has rights; and

(ii) the domain name Registrar has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the domain name; and

(iii) the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.

By looking at the first two elements, Lady Gaga has a legitimate complaint against the domain name holder.  There is always a kicker though.  To cap her complaint, the Gaga had to show that the domain was registered in bad faith.  This element, she did not prove.

In the panel’s opinion, they found that the owner of ladygaga.org is providing the star with free publicity, the domain was registered in 2008, shortly before her release of her first single “The Fame”, and the domain’s owner also doesn’t use the site for profitable reasons.  Ergo, no bad faith was found.

 

 With all that, the panel decided against the bouffant singer and has allowed the super fan to keep the site.  Cheers.

Subscribe

Login



FRIDAY, MAY 24, 2013

Bad Behavior has blocked 12481 access attempts in the last 7 days.